january, 2022

11jan6:00 pm7:00 pmEvent OverWinter Novel ThoughtsVIRTUAL EVENT VIA ZOOM

Event Details

Zoom Virtual Event.

Designed to engage children in grades 3-6, Novel Thoughts introduces a variety of literature and involves children in activities that coincide with each session provided. We carefully select from classic stories, fables, popular series, graphic novels, and comics. Children benefit from the literary experience as well as the interactive participation incorporated into each session.

This winter, Ms. O’Handley will be talking about two great books!

“Loser” by Jerry Spinelli
Tuesdays, January 4 & 11. 2022 at 6 PM

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like “Jabip.” Other kids have their own words to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn’t know he’s not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff’s differences show that any name can someday become a “hero.” With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy’s individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs.

“Box: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom” by Carole Boston Weatherford
Tuesdays, February 1 & 8, 2022 at 6 PM

Henry Brown wrote that long before he came to be known as “Box, “he” entered the world a slave.” He was put to work as a child and passed down from one generation to the next – as property. When he was an adult, his wife and children were sold away from him out of spite. Henry Brown watched as his family left, bound in chains, headed to the deeper South. What more could be taken from him? But then hope – and help – came in the form of the Underground Railroad. Escape! The author, in poems, narrates Henry Brown’s story of how he came to ship himself in a box from slavery to freedom.

For grades 3-6.

Those who register will receive free copies of the books to keep and the program’s Zoom login. This will be in a secure Zoom Room.

Registration is required. Space is limited to 10 children.
To RSVP, see below or email lohandley@albright.org to have the room link emailed to you.
To cancel your registration, please call to notify us.

more

Time

(Tuesday) 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

RSVP to event

RSVPing is closed at this time.

Please let us know if you can make it to the event.

Can not make it to this event?Change my RSVP

X
X
X